Innovation Quotes: Is Tom Peters the Reborn Leonardo da Vinci? ;)

My friend Tim (a member of lead/marke NET) postet To Great Innovation Quotes at his Australian blog, stating:

"… quote is from my favourite management guru – Tom Peters, from an article in the Chicago Tribune:

Life is pretty simple: You do some stuff. Most fails. Some works. You do more of what works. If it works big, others quickly copy it. Then you do something else. The trick is in the doing something else. …"

Hm, I thought, Tom said that? I remembered that quote being from Leonardo da Vinci ('cause I posted it here: Leonardo da Vinci on Innovation).

How should Tom know that the internet does not forget – back in 1994, when he wrote: The Best Corporate Strategy? None, Of Course, and forgot to mention Leonardo?

Or didn't he?

Because if you follow my posts links straight to that one you get, annotated right below the above quote:

"Tom Peters, American writer on business management, The Best Corporate Strategy? None, Of Course, Chicago Tribune, July 11, 1994 (quote often misattributed to Leonardo da Vinci)".

Ain't that just great!? I do love that!

And even Google won't help you on that one, so decide for yourself.

It really does not matter who said it. It really is a great quote. Thanks, Tim, for that.